How to Bulk Delete Photos on iOS Devices

Apr 30, 2017
How To

Many of us now rely on our mobile phones and tablets for quick ‘in-the-moment’ photos, but as the quality of picture continues to improve, more now also use them as sole cameras for holidays, parties, and other special memories. Because of this the storage on our devices can often become clogged, particularly on those with little space initially. What do you do, though, when you reach the end of your device’s limit, need some more storage space instantly, and don’t have the time to click and delete every photo one by one? Here’s a guide on how to bulk delete photos on iOS devices.

How To Bulk Delete Photos on iPhone

What do you do, though, when you reach the end of your device’s limit and don’t have the time to click and delete every photo one by one? Here’s a guide on how to bulk delete photos on iOS devices: https://appolicious.com/how-to-bulk-delete-photos-on-ios-devices

Bulk Deleting Album Photos

  1. Open the Photos app.
  2. In Albums (bottom right hand tab) select the album you wish to delete from. Camera Roll will have the majority of photos in it, so for bulk deleting it may be best to enter this folder.
  3. Press Select in the top right hand corner.
  4. Select photos individually by tapping the ones you want deleted, or drag your finger over several to tick them at the same time. A photo is selected when a blue circle with a tick appears in its bottom right hand corner.
  5. Once you’ve selected all of the photos you want deleted, press the trash can on the bottom right hand side of the screen.
  6. Tap Delete ‘X’ Photos from the pop up.
  7. Back in Albums, tap Recently Deleted. Press Select on the top right hand corner and then Delete All in the bottom right hand corner.

Bulk Deleting Memories

An easier and faster way of deleting a mass of photos, particularly if you’re clearing huge sections of picture, is to delete them from your memories.

  1. Open the Photos app.
  2. Press the Photos tab on the bottom right hand corner.
  3. Once in Moments, press Select in the top right hand corner.
  4. Next to each Moment should appear a small Select. Press this for every mass of photos you wish to delete, or Deselect for those you don’t.
  5. Press the trash can in the bottom right hand side of the screen.
  6. Tap Delete ‘X’ Photos from the pop up.
  7. Back in Albums, tap Recently Deleted. Press Select on the top right hand corner and then Delete All in the bottom right hand corner.
READ  How to Disable Read Receipts

Turning Off My Photo Stream

You may find that you still have the majority of your photos still on your phone under the album My Photo Stream. This means that the photos sent to iCloud are still stored in your phone, so you might want to stop this from clogging up your storage space.

  1. On the home screen, tap Settings.
  2. Click on Photos & Camera
  3. Turn off My Photo Stream

After you follow these procedures you should have cleared enough storage space for you to capture some more memories on your device.

Search for more

Chris Carr

A gamer ever since he owned Sonic on the Megadrive, Chris thinks that the only thing better than reading and writing about games is playing them

    Home Apps Games