How do you delete a Snapchat account | Appolicious iPhone and iPad apps

How do you delete a Snapchat account

Feb 17, 2017
How To
snapchat

With the initial public offering of Snapchat on the horizon as one of the largest companies to go public, the level of virality that Snapchat has been able to achieve has only been rivaled by a limited number of companies. Given the premise of sending quick images or messages that automatically delete themselves after a set number of seconds, privacy is ensured as the pictures or messages cannot be saved without the senders knowledge. With the increase in ads and integration of news content on the app, however, the number of users who are leaving the app continues to increase as user experience is hindered.

For those who are no longer interested in the Snapchat environment, this article discusses the various methods that can be employed in order to remove the Snapchat app or account from any iOS device to delete all the history or contacts associated with the account.

Deactivating/Deleting the Account

As of now, it is impossible to deactivate and delete a Snapchat account straight from the app. In order to do so, a user must go through additional steps through a web browser.

Method 1

  1. Using any web browser, go to https://support.snapchat.com/delete-account. This can be done either on a desktop computer or straight from a web browser on the phone or tablet
  2. Log into Snapchat with the username and password credentials
  3. Check the box to confirm that you are not a robot
  4. Click on “Login” or Submit
  5. Re-enter the username and password on page that comes up after
  6. Click on Continue to complete the account deleting process

Method 2

  1. Using any browser, visit snapchat.com
  2. Scroll down and select “Support,” under the “Company” section
  3. Select “Learning the basics”
  4. Select “Account Settings”
  5. Select “Delete an Account”
  6. Enter the Snapchat username and password credentials for the account that is to be deleted
  7. Check the box to confirm that you are not a robot
  8. Click on “Login” or Submit
  9. Re-enter the username and password on page that comes up after
  10. Click on Continue to complete the account deleting process

It is important to note that following these steps will permanently delete the account and all associated data after 30 days so that it is impossible to log into the Snapchat with the same credentials. An email will be sent to confirm the intentions to deactivate the account as well as instructions on how to reactivate the account if the user decides to change their mind prior to the 30 days. If the account is not reactivated within 30 days, it will be permanently deleted and will not be recoverable.

READ  How to Speed up a slow iPhone in 5 minutes

For a less permanent method of deleting Snapchat, users can simply delete the app from the phone using the same method as they would to delete any other app. To do this, simply hold down the app until the wiggle animations with the “x” appears in the top right corner before clicking the “x” button to delete the app. With this method, it is possible to simply download the app again from the App Store after it has been deleted with no effect on the actual account itself.

Search for more

Kevin Chau

Following my passion in the realm of business and entrepreneurship, I am always eager to develop skills that enable me to learn, build, and grow. My previous projects, both academic and personal, reflect my dedication towards expanding and applying my theoretical knowledge for practical results in these fields.

    Home Apps Games